30Jun09

When I was in elementary school, I went to California every year to spend the summer on my grandparents’ farm. Before you ask, it rocked and my brothers and I did all kinds of crazy awesome shit. Also though, it was my job to feed the rabbits. My brothers had to feed the cows which was a lot harder and required a pitchfork. I merely had to take a coffee can full of feed and pour it into each of their food cages, I think there were like seven of them. My favorite was Ruby, an all-white rabbit with shocking red eyes.

Unfortunately, I often forgot to feed the rabbits. I was pretty sure my grandfather fed them if I didn’t, and for some reason I never wanted to do it. I loved the rabbits, I guess I just hated having a job. I think I might have been a spoiled little brat.

Anyway, one day, I go into the backyard because my grandparents and brothers are back there, talking. My grandfather asked me if I had fed the rabbits. I said no, and tried to remember the last time I had. Must’ve been a week. I tell him I’ll do it right now, and get the food and walk over to the cages.

Once I get there, I see that Ruby has ants all over her body. I start shrieking and, realizing she’s dead, sobbing. I turn back to my family with tears in my eyes and they’re all doubled over laughing. Horrified, I announce how much I hate them and run inside the house. I grab the book I was reading (I’m guessing it was a Babysitter’s Club book) and run out the front door before realizing I have nowhere to go, so I cower on the side of the house, reading my book in the protection of the bushes.

A little while later they go inside and realize I’m gone, I can hear everything. My grandmother thinks I will return soon. My grandfather feels especially bad and decides to go look for me in his truck. I get great satisfaction out of this as I see him drive down the street and that’s the last thing I remember.

I have no idea when I decided to come out of hiding or if there were any repercussions. I can still feel the horror in my body from when I first saw that rabbit and realized they tricked me into seeing it. I still wonder to this day if I was the one who starved it to death or if it had some kind of disease. I’m not especially traumatized, but that was pretty messed up.

No Responses Yet to “”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

