comes and goes

20Feb09

This is kind of embarrassing but it still makes me laugh sometimes.

When I was in elementary school, I worshipped the library (still do, I guess). We would go every week and we could get two books each and it was so incredible. In the middle of the library was a podium, and a different book would be there every week. This book always had some kind of power, because I had to stand on my tippy toes to reach it, so it had an air of extra importance.

One week there was a book of name definitions. I always felt that my name was a little plain being only four letters, plus I never came across any other Lisas and I was pretty sick of it. If it had a good definition though, I was willing to forgive my mother, who, after being stuck with the name Janelle wanted her daughter to have a “normal” name.

So I looked it up. “See Elizabeth.” What’s this? My real name was Elizabeth? I was ecstatic. I flipped to Elizabeth and read, “Consecrated to God.” I had no clue what that meant or who God was, but I was guessing it was pretty important. That was when I started telling everyone I knew that my real name was Elizabeth, and it wasn’t until several years later that I realized this was not exactly the case. That sucked.

I also eventually realized that my name was merely a bastardized sound for a name that implied that I was meant to become a nun. When I was in high school my mom, finally realizing her mistake, offered to let me change my name to Elizabeth, but as I’ve since grown awfully attached to Lisa, I kept it. It kind of makes sense. I’ve also since discovered that my name means “smooth” in Spanish and almost “bee” in Greek.

No Responses Yet to “comes and goes”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

